Adelaide Fringe Celebrates its 2024 Award Winners

Mon, Mar 18 2024
47 shows have been recognised in this year’s Adelaide Fringe Awards, celebrating the exceptional talent and creativity that defines Adelaide Fringe. Following weeks of anticipation and outstanding performances across South Australia, the festival's final awards were celebrated in a grand ceremony on Sunday 17 March at the Dom Polski Centre.
A group of artists smiling at the camera holding up their Fringe Awards in front of the glitter wall
Fringe Awards. Photo: Jack Timberlake, Adelaide Fringe 2024
Judged by a panel of esteemed arts industry leaders and enthusiasts, Adelaide Fringe Awards are designed to acknowledge and celebrate the most outstanding events within the program. The Awards were presented to a select group of artists and shows that have not only enchanted audiences, but have also set new benchmarks for artistic excellence.

Distinguished for their significant reputational impact on the winning artists, the Awards include large sums of money, mentoring, and touring opportunities. This year's Final Award Winners have demonstrated unparalleled creativity, innovation and passion, capturing the hearts of audiences and critics alike.

50% of awards have gone to South Australian artists, with six of the 50 awards presented to First Nations artists. 36% of shows were supported by the Adelaide Fringe Fund. Across all of these awards, the total prize pool awarded to artists amounts to $283,000. 

Australia’s biggest arts festival has again been a resounding success in 2024, surpassing last year’s million ticket milestone with more than more than 1,450 shows presented in this year’s program. It's anticipated that the event has attracted over 55,000 interstate and international visitors, reaffirming its status as a significant contributor to South Australia's economy.

CEO and Director of Adelaide Fringe, Heather Croall AM said " Adelaide Fringe is a beacon of artistic freedom and creativity, and this year's award winners exemplify the spirit and diversity that our festival stands for. Their remarkable talent and dedication have truly elevated the festival experience, offering audiences unforgettable moments of joy, reflection, and inspiration. Congratulations to all our winners. Your success is a testament to the vital role the arts play in our lives, and we're proud to support and celebrate your achievements."

“A massive thank you to all of our Partners who make Adelaide Fringe possible, and to all of our Awards Partners who choose to support our artists directly through prizes and recognition,” said Heather.

A special thank you to all 2024 Awards Partners: Adelaide Comedy, Adelaide Critics Circle, Adelaide Festival Centre, Arts South Australia Department Of Premier And Cabinet, Australian Refugee Association, BankSA, Fiji Fringe, Frank Ford AM, FRINGE WORLD, Hither & Yon, Holden Street Theatres, Hollywood Fringe, House of Oz, Inspiring SA, IVISION LASER, KOJO, kwpx, Lumo Energy SA, Marjorie Fitz-Gerald OAM, Matt Tarrant, Melbourne Fringe, MILKE, mindshare, My Plan Manager, NZ Fringe Festival, Ray & Conrad Henley-Calvert, Sarah Rohrsheim, Svigos & Dimond Families, Sydney Fringe, The List, and Visualcom.

Adelaide Fringe extends its heartfelt congratulations to all of the Final Award Winners and expresses gratitude to all participants, attendees, supporters and Partners for making the 2024 festival a resounding success. As the curtains close on this year's season, Adelaide Fringe looks forward to continuing its tradition of showcasing exceptional artistic talents from around the world in 2025.